Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater…Quite A… Passionate/Heartfelt (?) Rambling

Blue lily lily blue

*All reviews I write are spoiler free*

I’m slowly but surely making my way though this series.

I plan on reading The Raven King this month too hopefully but I’m so not ready to leave this series.

Anyway, that’s not what we’re here to talk about right now. Give it a few weeks.

Let’s talk about Blue Lily, Lily Blue!

(PS. sorry for the rubbish photo. Didn’t have all my photography stuff set up today)

Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Title: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic

Series Status: The 3rd book in The Raven Cycle quartet

Number of Pages: Β 389

Synopsis new

(Found on back cover, view different version on Goodreads)


WARNING: Since this is the 3rd book in a series, this synopsis may contain spoilers for the previous books. If you haven’t read them, skip ahead to my spoiler free review!


For the first time in her life, Blue Sargent has found a place where she feels at home. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own and she is sure that she is where she belongs.

But certainties can unravel.

Visions can mislead.

And friends can betray.

The trick with found things is how easily they can be lost…

review new

Returning to this series always feels like a hug to me. I just love it so much.

And I think this is my favourite out of the series yet!

So in this book, we return to the original story of trying to find Glendower. If you’ve read the 2nd book – The Dream Thieves – you’ll know what I mean when I say return to the original story.

And the second you start this book, you’re just sort of thrown in at the deep end. There’s no break for you, if you’re a fan of this series. A big event happens while you weren’t looking, and now you’re there to go on the adventure and try and sort things out with the rest of the gang.

So so so much happens in this book. Each of the main characters has their own thing going on, separating them as people and not letting them become just a stereotypical group, but they all link together to form something much bigger. And it’s these little tid-bits of their own lives and problems that has developed every single character so far from the first book.

I CAN’T HELP BUT LOVE THE CHARACTERS SO MUCH MORE WITH EVERY BOOK.Β 

*cough* Especially Ronan Lynch *cough*

Just putting this out there – relationships are second in this story, the most important thing IS the actual story…but oh boy do I ship certain characters SO HARD. I’ll not say who, but there’s two pairs and if they don’t happen I’ll probably sulk for a year.

Anyway, about the actual story.

Evenly paced, comforting, and yet full of tension and wonder throughout, it’s hard not to fall in love with the story.

The thing I’ve always loved about this series is how all the fantasy elements that shouldn’t be possible…seem possible. I mean, I’ve heard about half this stuff before even beginning the series, so I was all for jumping in and throwing all my beliefs at this book. Just take it. Give me a magical world to believe in.

“Who was this person who could dream a dream into a concrete shape?”

It’s probably the reason why I was so thoroughly engrossed through the entirety of this book. And why it became my favourite so far. There was such a hauntingly familiar and yet sporadic method behind the world with Cabeswater involved, and I wanted to go there and experience it myself. I just knew I’d be like Gansey – completely and utterly devoted to this wonderfully magical world they’d found. I want to be part of that.

And it genuinely makes me upset that I can’t be part of that.

Might sound crazy, I know.

But I can’t help it.

You can tell this book affected me quite a lot. I can’t quite believe it myself. Which is a bit insane because of all the things I’m willing to believe – ghosts, magic, anything – and I say I can’t believe how much this book affected me. Right. Because that makes sense.

I’ve not reacted like this since I read the last Harry Potter book when I was about 11/12 years old. I’ve never wanted to live in a world as badly as that since. It’s a tortuously wonderful feeling.

It’s no wonder I’m always saying “words are powerful things.”

I was completely hooked all the way through, and I know I need a little break before tackling the last book because I’M SO NOT READY TO LEAVE THIS SERIES.

Rated 4.5/5 stars! (though VERY close to being a 5)

4.5 stars

Order from Amazon!



Share your thoughts!

Have you read this series?

Which book are you on?

What did you think of this book? Agree with me, or not?

Who’s your favourite character?

If you haven’t read this book or series, do you plan to?

Let me know in the comments!

Until next time…

sign

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Come and visit me!

heart a

My Instagram (Bookstagram)

My Twitter

My Goodreads

My Bloglovin’

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

7 thoughts on “Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater…Quite A… Passionate/Heartfelt (?) Rambling

  1. I love this series so, so, so much. I finished The Raven King a few days ago and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since. When I first started this particular book I wasn’t sure if I was going to love it as much as the others, but that quickly changed. So much happened and the ending was so intense! I love all the characters so much, but I think Ronan might be my favourite πŸ™ˆ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really want to read Raven King soon because of that ending but I also don’t want to finish the series! Such a dilemma ! Glad you loved this book just as much as the rest πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

