Book Inspired Outfits! – For the days you want to frolic around all Geek Chic

book inspired outfits

If you’re sat there looking at this title and thinking “Ashleigh, it’s Friday. Where your latest book review?” (which you’re porbably not because I doubt anyone keeps track of when I post reviews) then FEAR NOT MY DEAR FRIENDS. It’s coming tomorrow. I just couldn’t wait any longer to write up this post!

This is going to need a bit of explaining. For my final major project on my college course, my class has to make part of a magazine. A front cover and two double-page articles each.

And one of my double page articles is going to be about Book Inspired Outfits!

So last weekend, I had to go out and host a photoshoot with my friend Abbie modelling for me, to create these outfits.

And since this corner of the internet is my book blog, I decided to share some of the photos here!

So here are my book inspired outfits!!




Outfit Number 1 – Me Before You

So this first outfit is inspired by the cover of one of my newest favourite books, Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

As you can see, this outfit is really quite simple. It’s the sort you can wear outside, comfortable in the knowledge that you’re rocking the whole bookish look without it being obvious at all!

The only thing I made specific for this look was a black skirt, to match the little silhouette on the front.

And if you’ve seen the movie trailer, you might have guessed that the swing setting was a reference πŸ˜€

The look: Black skirt and tights. Bright pink top. Creamy-Beige cardigan.

~~~~~~~

Outfit Number 2 – Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games

This is the only outfit out of the four that’s inspired by an iconic book character, rather than the book cover.

Again, this is another really simple outfit. Inspired from Katniss’ woodland scenes at the beginning, I dressed Abbie in darker clothing and a green jacket. And of course – boots.

To finish the look off, I did a french braid in Abbie’s hair to replicate the signature Katniss Everdeen side braid πŸ™‚

The look: Dark jeans, Black top, Khaki green jacket, Black boots, French braided hair.

~~~~~~~

Outfit Number 3 – Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Anyone who knows me would know just how likely it was that I’d manage to get Harry Potter in here somewhere.

This outfit is basically A LOT of blue. As you can probably guess, since the entire cover is blue and silver.

I still can’t get over how perfectly that shade of blue on the top matches the blue on the cover! I was so amazed by it on the day of the photoshoot πŸ˜€

I’m not going to lie, I really like this outfit. It just looked so simple yet comfortable, I can definitely see myself wearing something similar. Even without the scarf the outfit looked great, but since the scarf was blue and silver, I thought it’d be great to add that little silver touch. But the silver could easily be added through jewelry, if you didn’t want a scarf!

The look: Dark blue jeans, Bright blue top, Blue and Silver scarf, Blue nail varnish.

~~~~~~~

Outfit Number 4 – Wordsworth Classics

And for the final outfit idea, this one is inspired by an entire genre. The Wordsworth classics!

As you can probably guess from the black and white theme of the Wordsworth Classics covers, this is a very monochrome outfit. And while it looks a lot more dressed up than the others, there’s still nothing that fancy about it. A simple striped dress, and an old fashioned hairstyle is what this one is all about!

The look: Black and white striped dress, Black tights and boots, Hair in old fashioned updo.

~~~~~~~




So there we have it!

Those are my four book inspired outfits!

I’ve always really loved these sort of blog posts, so being able to do my own version is really quite exciting for me πŸ˜€

I really hope you enjoyed this post!

Share your thoughts!

Which of these outfits were your favourite?

Would you wear any of these yourself?

Do you wear any book inspired outfits in your day-to-day life?

Let me know in the comments!

Until next time…

sign

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Come and visit me!

heart a

My Instagram (Bookstagram)

My Twitter

My Goodreads

My Bloglovin’

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

23 thoughts on “Book Inspired Outfits! – For the days you want to frolic around all Geek Chic

  1. Doing this was so so fun!! I still can’t get over how well the Harry Potter one worked either. I loved them all and you did a great job of organising it all! πŸ˜€ (I shall be wearing these outfits and thinking “oooh I’m inspired by this book today” aha)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post!! It’s such a cool and creative idea!! I loved the Me before you outfit especially because I’m reading it right now. I’m really enjoying it and I may wear something like it this weekend!! ✨

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

