East of West by Jonathan Hickman & Nick Dragotta…I’m sorry but what?

East of West

*All reviews I write are spoiler free*

Well.

Today’s review is going to be a graphic novel, purely because I’ve been busy most of the week and haven’t yet finished The Dream Thieves…in fact, I’m not even halfway through it yet. But since I always upload review on Fridays, I didn’t want to miss this week.

Luckily I had a graphic novel at hand that I hadn’t yet read.

So let’s talk about East of West!

East of West

Title: East of West

Author: Jonathan Hickman & Nick Dragotta

Publisher: Image Comics

Series Status: The 1st in a graphic novel series

Number of Pages: Approximately 143

Synopsis

(Found on Goodreads)

The things that divide us are stronger than the things that unite us. A Sci-Fi Western set in a dystopian America where all hope for the future rests in the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse…who just happen to be trying to kill the President of the United States.

Review

I actually didn’t want to write this review up. I don’t have much to say about it.

Because unfortunately, I didn’t like this book.

The idea about it being a Sci-Fi Western is what originally intrigued me, but if I’m honest, I don’t think there’s that much “Western” about it. There was the smallest hint of it in the beginning, and that’s about it.

And from then on I was just utterly confused.

And it’s really difficult to enjoy a story when you have only the slightest clue of what’s going on.

All I understood from the entire thing was that there was some sort of message, some strange child assassins, and two people were married.

I can’t help but wonder if I just wasn’t interested enough to begin with and didn’t pay enough attention to figure out what was happening. But even when I read back to try a catch on, I couldn’t wrap my head around it. The scenes switch too often, and considering it’s a graphic novel, I feel like this wasn’t the sort of story that could be told dominantly through drawings. I don’t know. Maybe it’s just me.

I mean, it wasn’t terrible. But I honestly considered not finishing it. I had to tell myself “Oh come on, it’s a graphic novel! It’ll only take you another 5 minutes or so to finish it.”

I do have to praise the art though. While it wasn’t my favourite style I’ve seen, the amount of detail is quite admirable, and you can tell it took a lot of time to create. Which is why I hate this being a bad review. But I need to be honest *shrugs*.

While I didn’t like this, I can definitely see the appeal. If you’re into graphic novels and can wrap you’re head around the story, it’s full of action and you might enjoy it. For me however, I just couldn’t get the hang of it. Maybe I’ll read it again in the future and suddenly realize what’s happening and enjoy it so much more. Let’s hope for that, eh?

Rated 1.5/5 stars

1.5 stars


Have you read this graphic novel?

Did you enjoy it more than I did? (I hope so!)

Share you’re thoughts!

Until next time…

sign

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Come and visit me!

heart a

My Instagram (Bookstagram)

My Twitter

My Goodreads

My Bloglovin’

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

3 thoughts on “East of West by Jonathan Hickman & Nick Dragotta…I’m sorry but what?

Leave a Reply

