Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

Nimona

Since Outlander is taking me a while to finish due to the sheer size of it (over 800 pages), I decided to read Nimona last night so that I would be able to upload a review this week. Since it’s a graphic novel it didn’t take me long to read at all, and I’ve been wanting to read this one for a while now. And I thought it’d be good to mix up my reading options a bit and add another graphic novel post to my blog!

This review may be slightly sorter than my usual ones, since it’s for a graphic novel.

So instead of rambling, let’s get to it!

Nimona

Title: Nimona

Author: Noelle Stevenson

Publisher: HarperTeen

Series Status: Standalone

Number of Pages: 256 + 8 bonus pages

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars!


TEXT - Synopsis

(Review from back cover – to view alternate version on Goodreads, click here)

Nimona is an impulsive shapeshifter with a knack for villainy.

Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta.

As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

Nemeses!

Dragons!

Science!

Symbolism!

All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson, based on her award winning web-comic.

TEXT - Review

So, as with all graphic novels, the main thing that caught my eye was the art style. I remember thinking it reminded me a lot of Rainbow Rowell’s books, but not quite being able to figure out why…and then I found out that Noelle Stevenson created the art on the cover of Rainbow Rowell’s book Fangirl. So that explains a lot. And much like that cover, I love the art style. Something about it is quirky and unique, the sort where you can definitely recognise who drew it.

What really makes this story is Nimona, the main character. I mean, she’s such a dork. You can’t help but love her. She causes so much havoc just by being so impulsive and spontaneous. I couldn’t help but laugh whenever she just did her own thing, and the randomness of it all. Plus the fact that she can shapeshift makes her infinitely more interesting. I mean, how cool would it be to be able to change into any animal as quick as a flash??? Ugh.

I was surprised by how much was going on in this story. It wasn’t just one plot line, there was a tangled web of people’s backstories along with the main story. It was one of those stories where you never quite know who the bad guys really are. But the story isn’t predictable at all – far from it.

How can it be when Nimona’s involved?

I got through this graphic novel really quickly even though it’s longer than most. There was never a dull moment.

I liked the ending. It left me with some unanswered questions though. I enjoyed seeing the little bonus snippets at the end too.

And let me just add one more thing…

Ambrosius Goldenloin’s hair is better than mine.

OK, I enjoyed this one a lot. It was fun, quirky and original, so I rate it…

4.5/5 stars!

starsstarsstarsstarshalf star

Order from Amazon!


Have you read this book? What did you think? Or is it on your TBR?

Let me know in the comments!

Thank you for reading!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Come and visit me!

heart

My Twitter

My Instagram (Bookstagram)

My Goodreads

My Bloglovin’

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

7 thoughts on “Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

  1. I actually just brought this book the other day and I’m so excited to read it! Even more now I’ve seen your review 🙂 I saw some pages of it on amazon and its looks like it is everything I’m after for my first graphic novel read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

